Skip to main content
Procore

Inactivate a Company in the Company Directory

Objective

To inactivate a company in Procore's Company level Directory tool. 

Background

If you have a company or vendor that has gone out of business or will no longer be working on projects for your company, you can mark that company record as inactive. To do this, use the steps below. Note that in Procore, you are not permitted to delete a company record. This preserves the integrity of any historical data that is associated with the company in your company's account. After you deactivate a company record in Procore, the company no longer appears as a selection in Procore's drop-down menus and lists. 

Things to Consider

  • Required User Permission:
    • 'Admin' level permissions on the company's Directory tool.
  • Requirements:
    • Before you can inactivate a company, you must do one of the following:
      • Remove the company's users from the company record.
      • Reassign the users to a different company record.
      • Deactivate the users. 
  • Limitations:
    • Company records cannot be deactivated if there is one (1) or more active users tied to an active project in your company's account. 
  • Additional Information:
    • Inactive company records no longer appear as selections in Procore's 'Responsible Contractor' and  'Company' drop-down lists. 
    • Inactive company records are NOT deleted from Procore. This maintains historical integrity. Instead, they are moved to the 'Inactive Companies' view. 
    • Inactive company records can only be re-activated by a user with 'Admin' level permission to the Directory.
  • If your company has enabled the ERP Integrations tool:
    • You may need to consolidate duplicate entries since only one Company level entry can be tied to an ERP vendor. In such cases, you may need to reassign users to the chosen company entry and inactivate the other duplicate entries.

Steps

  1. Navigate to the Company level Directory tool.
  2. Click Companies.
  3. Click Edit next to the company you want to inactivate.
    OR
    To inactivate multiple companies at one time, see Inactivate a Batch of Companies in the Company Directory.
  4. Click Deactivate Company.
    Note: If the 'Deactivate Company' button is unavailable, hover over the icon-help.png icon to see why the company cannot be inactivated.
    A GREEN banner displays to confirm the company is inactivated.

See Also