Skip to main content
Procore

Delete Files and Folders in the Project Level Documents Tool

Also available on    

Objective 

To delete documents and folders in Procore's Documents tool.

Things to Consider

  • Required User Permission:
    • To delete files and folders, 'Admin' on the Documents tool.
      OR
    • To delete files and folders as a user with 'Read Only' or 'Standard' level permission on the project's Documents tool, the 'Delete Files and Folders' granular permission must be enabled on the permission template associated with your user account on the project. See Grant Granular Permissions in a Permission Template.
      Note: The user must also have permission to view the file/folder. See Manage Permissions for Files and Folders.
  • Additional Information:
    • Keep the following in mind when working with the Documents tool:

      • The tasks that you can perform are determined by the permission level that you've been granted for each tool. See What are the default permission levels in Procore? You may not always be assigned the same permission level on both your company's and a project's Documents tool. 
      • Access permissions are typically set by your company's Procore Administrator (or another contact at your organization who has been delegated the authority to administer a specific project and/or project tool).
    • If you delete a file by mistake, or want to restore a file that you deleted, see Retrieve a File or Folder from the Recycle Bin.
    • You cannot delete a file or folder while it belongs to a bid package. See Edit a Bid Package.

Steps

  1. Navigate to the Documents tool.
  2. In the tree view, navigate to and highlight the file or folder you want to delete.

    highlight-file.png
     
  3. Choose from these options to delete the file:
    • Right-click the file or folder and click Delete.

      delete-shortcut.png

      OR
    • With the file selected, click the Delete button. 

      documents-delete.png
       
    • A message appears asking you to confirm the delete action.
  4. Click OK to confirm the delete action.
    The system moves the file of folder from the Documents tool to the Recycle Bin. 

See Also