Skip to main content
Procore

Merge Companies

Objective

To consolidate two or more individual vendor/company records into a single vendor/company record by merging the records.

Background

Just like when creating new users, when a company is created in the Project level Directory the entries are automatically added to the Company level Directory. To prevent double entry between the two directories, Procore uses a search-ahead result picker that will automatically fill all preexisting information in the Project level Directory entry when a duplicate name is created and that existing entry is selected. However, because Procore does allow duplicate company information (unlike users, who are harder to duplicate because two users with the same email address cannot be added) sometimes duplicate companies are created that have a slightly different spelling ("Star Framing" and "Star Framing Co."). 

Having duplicate companies also decentralizes bid information, insurance information, and users associated with companies when they should be all be stored under a single company in the Directory. This can negatively affect bid processes, insurance tracking, and reporting.

To resolve these issues, you can merge any duplicate companies in the Company level Directory.

Things to Consider

  • Required User Permissions: 'Admin' level permissions on the Company level Directory tool.

    Warning! Once you merge two company records, the action cannot be undone. All information that you do not specify to keep will be permanently removed and not recoverable, including all company entries of the duplicate companies.
     
  • Two or more companies may be selected to be merged at one time.
  • When merging companies, you will be asked to select a master company in which to merge the other company or companies into.
  • All items and users associated with the merged company or companies will be associated with the master company upon merging.
  • When a user is moved to the master company, it will be tracked in the user's change history.
  • The following company data attributes will be merged into the master company upon merging:
    • bid comments and vendor star ratings
    • cost codes
    • insurance
    • trades
    • project history
      The remaining data attributes will be that of the masters upon merging (ex: email address, logo, change history). 
  • Companies cannot be merged if two or more of the companies desired to be merged have been invited to bid within the same bid package on a project.
  • When a merge occurs, names of the companies that were merged into the master company will be tracked in the change history of the master company and in the Merge History table below.
  • Additional Information for ERP-Integrated Systems:
    • Duplicate vendor/company must be consolidated (see Consolidate Duplicate Vendors in the Company Directory) or merged in Procore before your data is synced with an ERP-integrated system (e.g., Sage 300 CRE or QuickBooks). 
    • If your company has enabled the ERP Integrations tool for a third-party accounting system, the Company Merge subtab will prompt you to choose a Sage ID if one or more of the vendors selected for merging are synced with Sage. Merged vendors which are not selected as the master vendor will be unlinked and archived in the ERP Vendors subtab. (Note: For example, if Vendor A and Vendor B are both linked with Sage when they are merged, and Vendor A is chosen as the master vendor, Vendor B will then be unlinked from Sage and archived in the ERP Vendors subtab.)
  • Please exercise caution. Merging companies is an action that cannot be undone. The company records that are merged into the master company are permanently removed from Procore. They are also not recoverable.

Demo

merge-2-companies.gif

Image content may not accurately reflect the current state of the system, and/or it may be out of date.

Steps

Important! Review all of the information in the Things to Consider section above before continuing with these steps:

  1. Navigate to the Company level Directory tool.
  2. Click the Configure Settings  icon.
  3. Click Merge Companies.
  4. On the 'Merge Companies: Instructions' page, review the instructions. 
  5. Click Begin Merging.
  6. On the 'Select Two or More Companies to Merge' page, mark the checkboxes for the companies you want to merge.
    Notes:
    • To change the sort order of the table, click a column header. The default sort order is in ascending alphabetical order by Company Name. 
    • To search for similar or duplicate company names, type your search criteria in the 'Search for Companies' box and click Search
    • To filter the list display show exact matches only, under Filter Companies, select one of the options in the 'Exact Match' drop-down menu:
      • Company Name
      • Address
      • Phone
      • Fax 
    • If two or more companies have been linked to the same bid sheet, you cannot merge the company records.
  7. Click Next Step.
  8. On the 'Select Master and Fields' page and under the 'Master' column, select the option button next to the company record that you want to specify as the master company. The master company is the company record the other record or records will be merged into.
    Important! If a company record has been synced with a third-party accounting system, a notation appears between the 'Master' and 'Company Name' columns to alert you that it is linked to your third-party ERP system. Be aware if vendors are linked to an ERP system, the link for the master vendor will be saved and the other vendor(s) will be unlinked from the ERP system and then archived in the Vendors subtab of the ERP Integrations tool. 

EXAMPLE

Vendor A and Vendor B are both linked with an ERP system and you want to merge the records. If you specify Vendor A as the master company, the information from Vendor B will be moved into Vendor A. Then the Vendor B record will be unlinked from ERP and archived in the Vendors subtab of the ERP Integrations tool. The record for Vendor B will also be permanently removed from the Company Directory.

  1. On the 'Select Master and Fields' page, select the option buttons under the data columns that you want to apply to the master company. When you select the master company, all of the options for that company are selected by default but you can select the name, address, phone number, fax, or entity type/ID from any of the other companies in the list.
    Important! Any data that is NOT selected will be permanently removed during the merge. All of the users associated with the company or companies not selected as the master company will be merged into the master company. 
  2. Click Next Step.
  3. On the 'Adjust and Confirm' page, edit or add any information on the master company. 
  4. Click Merge
    A confirmation window displays. Click OK to merge the companies.
    A progress indicator displays under 'Merge in Progress' to indicate the status of the merge.

    Note: During the merge, all of the companies involved in the merge are temporarily locked to prevent them from being used in another merge until the initial merge is complete. You can merge other companies while the initial merge is still in progress.

    The 'Merge Successful' message displays under 'Merge in Progress' when the merge is complete.

Show Merge History

  1. Navigate to the Company level Directory tool.
  2. Click the Configure Settings  icon.
  3. At the bottom of the 'Merge Companies: Instructions' page, click Show Merge History.

    merge history.png
    • Master Company. Denotes the name of the company selected as the master record. This is the record into which the other selected record was merged. 

    • Merged Companies. Denotes the name of the company that was merged into the master company's record.

    • Merged By. Shows the name of the user who merged the record. 

    • Date. Shows the date and time the merge successfully completed. 

 

  • Was this article helpful?