Skip to main content
Procore

Remove a Single User Account from a Project

Objective

To remove a user from the Project level Directory tool. 

Background

Follow the steps below to permanently remove a user from the Project Directory. Note that when you remove a user from the project they will no longer be available as a selection in any of the project's Assignee lists. However, all of the user's past activities on the will remain a permanent part of the project's historical record.

Things to Consider

  • Required User Permissions:
    • 'Admin' level permissions on the Project Directory.
      OR
    • 'Standard' or 'Read Only' level permissions on the Project Directory with the 'Remove User from a Project' granular permission enabled on your permission template.
  • Requirements:
    • In order to remove a user from a project, any items on which the user is assigned on the project (e.g., the user is an 'Approver' on a submittal or the 'Assignee' on an RFI) must be reassigned to another user or the user must complete the assigned task (e.g., the user must submit a reply on the submittal or the user must submit a reply to the RFI and the RFI must be 'Closed' by the RFI Manager).
  • Additional Information:
    • If you want to remove multiple users from a project, see Remove a Batch of User Accounts from a Project Directory.
    • Only the user's contact record is removed from the Project Directory.
    • All of the user's past activities remain a permanent part of the project's historical record. 

Demo

remove-user.gif

Steps

  1. Navigate to the project's Directory tool.
  2. Locate the user to remove and then click Edit.
    Note: To search the directory for a match, see Search and Filter the Project Directory.
  3. Click Remove from Project.
    A confirmation message appears. 
  4. Click OK to acknowledge the confirmation message.
    A YELLOW banner appears at the top of the page to confirm that the user was removed. This action removes the user from the project and also from any associated email distribution lists for that project.
    Note: If you would like to deactivate the user and prevent him or her from accessing your company's Procore account, continue with Deactivate a User from the Company Directory.

See Also