Skip to main content
Procore

Assign a Project Permissions Template to a User in the Project Directory

Objective

To assign a project permissions template to a user in the Project level Directory.

Background

In Procore, Role-Based Permissions (RBP) are used to manage user access to different Procore tools. Access for each role is defined in a permission template. By default, Procore provides its client's with several role-based project permissions templates (see What are the default project permissions templates in Procore?).

Users can be assigned a global permission template (created in the company's Permissions tool) or a project specific permission template (created in the company's Permissions tool or the Project level Directory tool).

Things to Consider

Steps

  1. Navigate to the Project level Directory tool.
  2. Click Edit next to user who you want to assign a permissions template for.
  3. Scroll to the Project Permissions Templates drop-down menu and select one of the following options:
    project-pm-list.png

    Note: We recommend selecting either a global permission template or a project specific permission template.
    • Do Not Apply a Template. Select this option if you do NOT want to apply a permissions template and instead want to define unique permissions for the user. In the table below the 'Project Permissions Templates' drop-down menu, click the button on each permission level you want to provide for each tool you want the user to have access to. Continue with step 4.
      OR 
    • Global Permissions Template. To provide the user with the project access permissions defined in one of your company's global permissions templates, select a template under the 'Global Permissions Templates' section of the drop-down menu and continue with step 4 below.
      OR
    • Project Specific Permissions Template: To provide the user with project access permissions defined in one of the project specific permissions templates on the project, select a template under the 'Project Specific Templates' section of the drop-down menu and continue with step 4 below.
  4. Choose one of the following:
    • If you want to save the changes without sending an email to the user, click Save.
    • If you want to remind the user they have been invited to join your Procore project, click Save & Send Notification.
      Note: This button is only available when the user has previously logged into Procore. 
    • If this is a new user and you want want to invite them to join your Procore project, click Save and Send Invite to Procore.
      Note: This button is only available when the user has not yet logged into Procore.

 

If you would like to learn more about Procore's directory software and how it can help your business, please visit our construction contact directory tool product page .