Skip to main content
Procore

What is the 'Enable Always Editable Schedule of Values' setting?

 Note

For Procore users who turn the 'Enable Always Editable Schedule of Values' setting ON, be aware that this setting is NOT currently supported when:

Answer

The 'Enable Always Editable Schedule of Values' check box is a configuration setting in the supported Project Financials tools (see Which Procore tools support this setting? below). It providers users who have been granted the required user permissions to a tool with the ability to update the line items on a Schedule of Values (SOV) and Subcontractor Schedule of Values (SSOV), regardless of its status. 

Example

The 'Enable Always Editable Schedule of Values' setting is available to turn ON and OFF in the 'Contract Configuration' section of the Client Contracts, Funding, and Prime Contracts tools. 

contracts-enable-always-editable-sov.png

The setting is also available in the 'Contract Configuration' section of the Commitments tool. In the Commitments tool, users can adjust line items on both the Schedule of Values and the Subcontractor Schedule of Values. However, please be aware of these limitations:

  • You cannot adjust the value of SOV or SSOV line items below the amount that has been invoiced against that line item.

  • While adjustments are being made, Procore changes the SSOV status to 'Revise and Submit'. Users must manually change the status back to 'Approved' in order to create invoices against the commitment contract. 

  • You cannot adjust the value of SOV or SSOV line items on contracts synced with the Company level ERP Integrations tool. 

  • You cannot delete line items from the SOV or SSOV.

  • You cannot turn the SSOV tab ON or OFF in a commitment after the SOV line items have been billed against with an invoice. See Enable or Disable the Subcontractor SOV Tab on the Commitments Tool.

commitments-enable-always-editable-sov.png

To learn more:

What does this setting do? 

The table below describes how this setting works when turned ON or OFF in the 'Configure Settings' page of a supported Project Financials tool. See Which Procore tools support this setting?

When the setting is... Users with editing permissions can perform these tasks when the contract, funding, or commitment is in any status... Users with editing permissions can edit these values (except when an invoice for the line item has been created)
ON
  • Add new line items to any SOV.
  • Import new line items to any SOV.
  • Update the 'Description' column on any SOV line item.
  • Reduce the value in the 'Contract Amount' column to the 'Billed to Date' amount.
  • Change the order that line items appear on any SOV.
  • Change the 'Budget Code' assigned to any SOV line item.
  • Change the 'Type' assigned to any SOV line item.
  • Delete a line item from any SOV.
OFF
  • You cannot perform any of the above tasks.
  • You cannot perform any of the above tasks.

Which Procore Tools support this setting?

This setting is supported in these tools:

Why turn this setting ON or OFF?

In Procore, this setting is turned OFF by default. However, a user with 'Admin' level permissions on a supported tool can choose to turn this setting ON and OFF at any time. Reasons for turning the setting ON and OFF include:

  • ON. Turn this setting ON when project users need to update a contract's or funding's SOV after change orders or invoices have been placed in the 'Approved' status. This allows users to refine a contract's or funding's value, without having to issue a new change order against the contract or funding.  
  • OFF. Turn this setting OFF when they want to restrict users from updating a contract's or funding's SOV after change orders and invoices are approved. This prevents users from refining a contract's or funding's value and requires users to issue a new change order against a contract or funding. 
 Important
Procore recommends turning this setting ON and OFF before your team begins creating invoices. Although you can change this setting at any time, it is important to note that Procore will NOT retroactively apply the updated setting to your existing invoices. A setting change is only applied to new invoices. 

How do I turn this setting ON or OFF?

The 'Enable Always Editable Schedule of Values' check box is a configuration setting on the 'Configure Settings' page which can be turned ON or OFF by a user with 'Admin' level permissions on the supported Project Financials tool. By default, this setting is turned OFF. 

Procore Dictionary 1 Procore Tool Name Instructions
All Dictionaries Commitments Configure Settings: Commitments
Procore for General Contractors Prime Contracts Configure Settings: Prime Contracts
Procore for Owners Funding Configure Settings: Funding
Procore for Specialty Contractors Client Contracts Configure Settings: Client Contracts

1 See What dictionaries and languages are available in the Procore web application? 

Anything else I need to know?

Yes. If you or a team member changes the status of a Subcontractor Schedule of Values to 'Draft' after is was set to 'Approved', the amounts in the schedule will need to be reallocated before you can set its status to 'Approved' a second time. You also cannot edit the amounts on the Subcontractor Schedule of Values after a line item has been included on an invoice. For example, if you already created an invoice for a line item with a $100.00 amount, you cannot set its value to $50.00 in the Subcontractor Schedule of Values.