Skip to main content
Procore

Are commitments private by default?

 In Beta
Note to users participating in the Modernized Commitments User Interface (UI) beta program. The 'Private' section pictured below has been moved to a new 'Contract Access' section in a commitment. The labels on the user interface have also been changes. However, Procore's default setting for commitments continues to be private. To learn about the new user interface, see (Beta) Create Purchase Orders: Update the Contract Access and (Beta) Create Subcontracts: Update the Contract Access. To learn about the beta program, see Project Financials: (Beta) Modernized Experience for Commitments.

Answer

Yes. When you create a new commitment in the project's Commitments tool, Procore's default setting is to place a checkmark in the 'Private' box as pictured below. This ensures the commitment is only visible to users with 'Admin' level permissions on the project's Commitments tool.

commitments-private-default.png

 Notes
  • Privacy settings for new commitments can be managed at the tool level. A Procore user with the required user permissions can change the default setting for your environment using the Configure Settings page of the Commitments tool. For instructions and permissions information, see Configure the Default Privacy Settings for the Commitments Tool.
  • Privacy settings can also be managed on an individual commitment. Privacy settings allow you to grant specific users the privilege to view a specific commitment and/or its Schedule of Values. For example, you might want to provide a downstream collaborator with permission to view their commitment contract with your company. To learn more, see Change the Privacy Settings for a Commitment.

 

If you would like to learn more about Procore's commitments software and how it can help your business, please visit our construction financials tool product page .