Delete Uploaded Documents in the Document Management Tool
Things to Consider
-
Required User Permissions:
-
'Admin' level permissions to the project's Document Management tool.
Note: Standard users (including the original uploader) cannot move uploaded documents to the Recycle Bin unless granted appropriate Admin permissions. See How do permissions work in the Document Management tool?-
File Admin permissions enabled under Settings > Permissions > Document Permissions.
-
-
Recycle Bin Behavior: Deleting an uploaded document soft-deletes the file and moves it to the Placeholders and Uploads collection in the Recycle Bin. Original file metadata (Upload Date, Uploader ID, File Size, and Original Path) is preserved.
-
Restoring & Permanent Purging: Restoring recycled uploads back to the active Uploads tab or permanently deleting them from the Recycle Bin is not supported in this release.
-
-
Additional Information:
-
This is for documents in the 'Uploads' tab. To delete submitted documents, see Recycle Submitted Documents in the Document Management Tool.
-
To configure who can move files to the Recycle Bin, navigate to Settings > Permissions tab > Document Permissions and verify the Recycle Bin permission setting for Admins.
-
Steps
-
Navigate to the project's Document Management tool.
-
Click the Uploads tab.
-
Follow the steps below:
Delete an Uploaded Document
-
Select the checkbox next to the document you want to delete.
-
Click Recycle Bin in the top action bar.
OR
Click the vertical ellipsis icon and select Delete. -
In the Move to Recycle Bin window:
-
Enter a mandatory explanation in the Reason* field explaining why you are recycling the file.
-
Review the item listed under Items To Be Moved.
-
-
Click Move to Recycle Bin.
The file is moved to the Placeholders and Uploads collection in the Recycle Bin.
Bulk Delete Uploaded Documents
-
Mark the checkbox next to each document you want to delete.
-
Click Recycle Bin in the top action bar.
-
In the Move to Recycle Bin window:
-
Enter a mandatory explanation in the Reason* field explaining why you are recycling these files.
-
Review the selected items listed under Items To Be Moved.
-
-
Click Move to Recycle Bin.
The files are moved to the Placeholders and Uploads collection in the Recycle Bin.

