Skip to main content
Procore

Consolidate Duplicate Companies in the Company Directory

NEW ERP DOCUMENTATION EXPERIENCE!

We've been busy building a better way to serve you documentation that gives you the most up-to-date and relevant information about how to use your company's Procore + ERP integration.

This page is part of the new experience. The new experience is currently complete for all Procore-built ERP integrations. 

Objective

To consolidate any duplicate company records that might exist in the Company Directory.

Background

When your Procore company is integrated with an ERP system, you will typically link the company records in your ERP system with their corresponding company records in Procore's Company level Directory tool.

However, before you create that link between the systems, it is strongly recommended that you use the steps below to remove any duplicate company records that might exist in the Company level Directory to make sure linking is valid and all records maintain integrity. 

Things to Consider

  • Required User Permission:
    • 'Admin' level permission on the company's Directory tool. 
  • Recommendations:
    • If you only have a few duplicate company records in the Company Directory, use the steps below.
      OR
    • If you have many duplicate records, use the steps in Merge Companies instead.
  • Requirements, limitations, and considerations may vary depending on the ERP system your Procore company is integrated with. See Things to Know about your ERP Integration for details.

Steps

1. Move the Company's Users

  1. Navigate to the Company level Directory tool.
  2. Click the Companies tab.
  3. Locate the duplicate company records in the list.
  4. Do the following:
    • Identify the 'primary' company record that you want to keep. You do not need to take action on the users listed under the record you want to keep. 
      AND
    • Identify the 'duplicate' company record that you want to remove. You will remove all of the users from this record and reassign them to the correct record.
  5. Next to the 'duplicate' company (the one you want to remove), click Edit
  6. Click the General subtab.
  7. In the Name field, add an 'X-' in front of the company name (e.g., X-ABC Plumbing) so you can easily recognize it later as the company you DON'T want to keep.
  8. Click Save
  9. In the same ('duplicate') company record, click the Users subtab.
  10. Do the following for EVERY user listed under the company that you won't keep:
    • Click the Edit button next to the user's name. 
    • Clear 'duplicate' company from the Company Name selection. 
    • Select the correct 'primary' company (the one you will keep), from the drop-down list. 
    • Click Save.
      Note: You must remove ALL of the existing users from the 'duplicate' company before you can remove it. If there are too many users to perform this action manually with the steps described above, you can choose to Merge Companies instead.
  11. Once all users have been moved to the company record you need to keep, you can then deactivate the duplicate company record.

2. Deactivate the Company

  1. Navigate to the company's Directory tool.
  2. Locate the company record that you want to remove (e.g., X-ABC Plumbing). 
  3. Click Edit.
  4. Click Deactivate Company.
    • If this button is grayed-out and unavailable, click the Users subtab and make sure the list is empty.
    • If the duplicate company record is listed on a commitment, you cannot deactivate it. Instead, see Merge Companies.

A banner appears at the top of the page to confirm that the company record is deactivated.