Skip to main content
Procore

Assign a Project Permissions Template to a User in the Company Directory

Objective

To assign a global permission template or a project specific permission template to a user in the Company level Directory tool.

Background

In Procore, Role-Based Permissions (RBP) are used to manage user access to different Procore tools. Access for each role is defined in a permission template. By default, Procore provides its clients with several role-based project permissions templates. For details, see What is a permission template? and What are the default project permissions templates in Procore?

After you've created your project permissions templates in Procore, you can assign those templates to users from either the Company or Project Directory. This article shows you how to assign templates to users in the Company Directory. 

Things to Consider

  • Required User Permissions:
    • 'Admin' level permissions on the Company level Directory tool.
  • Additional Information:
    • Procore's permission levels (e.g., None, Read Only, Standard, Admin) define what actions users can perform and what information they can view in each Procore tool.

Steps

  1. Navigate to the Company level Directory tool.
  2. Navigate to the Users tab.
  3. Click Edit next to the user you want to assign a permissions template to.
  4. Scroll down to the 'Project Settings' area and configure the following options:

Set the User's Default Permission Template for New Projects

  1. In the 'New Project Settings' area, click Select Default Template.



    This reveals the 'Select Default Permission Template' window.
  2. In the Template drop-down list, select the template you want to assign as the user's default permissions template.
    Note: Only global permissions templates can be selected as default permissions templates.
  3. Review the permissions preview for the selected template.


     
  4. Click Apply to close the 'Select Default Permission Template' window. 
    Now, when you add the user to a new Procore project, the settings for the selected template will be applied to the user's profile on the new project.
  5. If you want to automatically add the user to all new projects in your company's Procore account, mark the Add [User Name] to All New Projects in [Company Name] checkbox. This checkbox is cleared by default. 
  6. If you want to provide the user with the permission to create new projects using the Company Directory tool, mark the Allow [User Name] to Create New Projects checkbox. This checkbox is cleared by default.  
    Note: Selecting this option automatically provides the user with full administrative access permission to the projects that they create in Procore.

Change the User's Permission Templates for Current Projects

The 'Current Project Settings' list shows all of the Procore projects to which the user has been granted access. It also shows the user's current template assignment for each project. You can change the permissions template assignment as follows:

  1. In the 'Current Project Settings' list, click the Change Template link.



    This reveals the 'Select a Project Permission Template' window.
  2. In the Template drop-down list, select the template you want to assign to the user.
    Note: You can select either a global permissions template or a project specific permissions template from this list.
  3. Review the tool permissions for the selected template.
    Notes:
    • If you chose a global permission template from the Template list, you can place a mark in the  Apply this template to all projects [User Name] belongs to checkbox. The default setting for this checkbox is cleared. 
    • if you choose a project specific permission template from the Template list, this checkbox will have no effect on the user's other project template assignments.


       
  4. Click Apply to close the 'Select Default Permission Template' window. 
    Note: If you placed a mark in the 'Apply this Template to All Projects' checkbox, the system displays a confirmation message. Click OK to confirm the template change. 



    The system applies the template change to the user's project(s) as specified. 

See Also