Skip to main content
Procore

Edit or Delete a Message in the Conversations Tool (Beta)

Also available on  icon-apple-logo.png  icon-android-logo.png

 In Beta
The Conversations tool is currently in beta. For more information, see Getting Started with Procore Conversations and How do I opt in to the beta for Procore Conversations?

Objective

To edit or delete a message that you recently sent using the Conversations tool in Procore.

Background

If you recently sent a message and realize that you need to modify it, you can edit or delete it within the first five (5) minutes of sending it. In order to maintain an accurate record of information in a project, messages cannot be edited or deleted after this time period.

Things to Consider

  • Required User Permissions:
    • You must exist in a project's Directory tool.
 Important
  • This is an optional feature that may not be available in the Procore account you are working in. Company Admins can enable or disable the feature in the Company level Admin tool. See Configure Access and Settings for the Conversations Tool.
  • You can only edit or delete your message within five (5) minutes of sending it.

Steps

Edit a Message

  1. Navigate to the Conversations tool in Procore.
    OR
    Navigate to the item in Procore that has a conversation started. See Go to an Item in Procore from the Conversations Tool.
  2. Hover over the message that you sent and click the edit icon-edit-cnvs.pngicon.
    Note: The Edit option is only available for five (5) minutes after sending a message.
    edit-message.png
  3. Edit the message as necessary.
  4. Click the checkmark icon-save-cnvs.png icon to save your message.
    The message is automatically updated, and (edited) is shown under the message to clarify that the original message was modified.
    message-edited.png

Delete a Message

  1. Navigate to the Conversations tool in Procore.
    OR
    Navigate to the item in Procore that has a conversation started. See Go to an Item in Procore from the Conversations Tool.
  2. Hover over the message that you sent and click the delete icon-delete-cnvs.png icon.
    Note: The Delete option is only available for five (5) minutes after sending a message.
    delete-message.png
  3. Click Delete to confirm that you want to delete the message.
    The message is automatically deleted, and is replaced with a message stating it was deleted by you at a specific date and time.
    deleted-message-banner.png