Skip to main content
Procore

Assign a Permission Template to a Project User

Objective

To assign a permission template to a user in the Project level Directory.

Background

In Procore, Role-Based Permissions (RBP) are used to manage user access to different Procore tools. Access for each role is defined in a permission template. By default, Procore provides its client's with several role-based permission templates (see What are the default permission templates in Procore?).

For users with 'Admin' level permission to the Project Directory, you can assign a global permission template (created in the company's Permissions tool) or a project specific permission template (created in the company's Permissions tool or the Project level Directory tool) to a project user when editing the user's information.

Things to Consider

Steps

  1. Navigate to the Project level Directory tool.
  2. Click Edit next to user who you want to assign a permission template for.
  3. Scroll to the Project Permissions Templates drop-down menu and select one of the following options:
    project-pm-list.png

    Note: We recommend selecting either a global permission template or a project specific permission template.
    • Do Not Apply a Template. Select this option if you do NOT want to apply a permission template and instead want to define unique permissions for the user. In the table below the 'Project Permission Templates' drop-down menu, click the button on each permission level you want to provide for each tool you want the user to have access to. Continue with step 5.
      OR 
    • Global Permission Template. To provide the user with the project access permissions defined in one of your company's global permission templates, select a template under the 'Global Permission Templates' section of the drop-down menu and continue with step 5 below.
      OR
    • Project Specific Permission Template: To provide the user with project access permissions defined in one of the project specific permission templates on the project, select a template under the 'Project Specific Templates' section of the drop-down menu and continue with step 5 below.
  4. Choose one of the following:
    • If you want to save the changes without sending an email to the user, click Save.
    • If you want to remind the user they have been invited to join your Procore project, click Save & Send Notification.
      Note: This button is only available when the user has previously logged into Procore. 
    • If this is a new user and you want want to invite them to join your Procore project, click Save and Send Invite to Procore.
      Note: This button is only available when the user has not yet logged into Procore.

See Also