1-866-477-6267 (toll-free)
Support Home > Products > Procore > Procore User Guide > Company Level > Documents > Tutorials > Check Out, Check In, or Reset a Checkout of a File

Check Out, Check In, or Reset a Checkout of a File

Objective

To check out, check in, and reset a checkout of a file in the Documents tool. 

Background

After uploading a file to the Documents tool, you can upload newer versions directly or you can check files in and out. If you work in an environment where multiple people have access to edit files, it is strongly recommended that you check files in an out to prevent conflicts (e.g., overriding another users changes): 

  • Check Out. This downloads a copy of the current version of the file your computer so you can update it. While the file is checked out, other users will not be permitted to upload a newer version of the file. When your file updates are ready, you can then upload the new version which also checks the file back into the tool. 
  • Check In. This lets you upload a newer version of the file. When a file is checked in, other users with the appropriate access permission can then perform a check-out if they want to update the file.
  • Reset Checkout. This cancels a check-out, so other users with the appropriate access permission can check out the file. A reset can be performed only by the person who checked out a file or a user with 'Admin' level permission. 

Things to Consider

  • Required User Permission:
    • To check in/out a file, 'Standard' or 'Admin' on the Documents tool.
    • To reset a check out, 'Admin' on the Documents tool or the person who checked out the file. 
  • Additional Information:
    Keep the following in mind when working with the company- or project-level Documents tool:
    • The tasks that you can perform are determined by the permission level that you've been granted for each tool. See What are the default permission levels in Procore? You may not always been assigned the same permission level on both the company- and project- level tools.
    • Access permissions are set by your company's Procore Administrator (or another contact at your organization who has the required user permission to administer the company- or project-level tool).

Steps

Check Out a File

  1. Navigate to the Documents tool.
    The Documents page appears. 
  2. In the tree view, navigate to and highlight the desired file.
  3. Under Check Out File, do the following:
    1. Duration. Select one of the predefined time periods from the list (i.e., 1 Hour, 3 Hours, 5 Hours, 12 Hours, 24 Hours, or 7 Days). These selections cannot be customized (Note: If you don't upload a new version of the file before the checkout expires, the system resets the checkout automatically so other users can check out the file). 


      check out a file.png
       
    2. Check Out. Click this button to check the file out. 
      Notes:

      • If you want to see a summary of the file's related activity (i.e., downloads, reset checkouts, etc.), expand the Version Log.
      • If you are a user with 'Admin' level permission, you have permission to reset the checkout. See Reset a File Checked Out

Check In a File

  1. Navigate to the Documents tool.
    The Documents page appears. 
  2. In the tree view, navigate to and highlight the file that you previously checked out. 
    Notes:
    • If you are a user with 'Admin' level permission, you are permitted to check in files that have been checked out by other users. 
    • If you are a user with 'Standard' level permission, you are only permitted to check in the file(s) that you have checked out. 
  3. Under Upload a New Version, do the following:
    1. Choose File. Click this button to browse your computer's files for the new version of the file to upload. After selecting the file in your computer's file navigator, click Open.

    2. Comment. Enter a description of the change in this box (Note: To capture any historical information, it is a best practice to always enter a comment about the new version). 



      upload a new version.png

       
    3. Upload. Click this button to upload the file to the Documents tool. 
      Notes:

      • If you upload a file with a unique name (e.g., you checked out a file named "Installation Manual" and then uploaded a new version named "Installation Manual (1)", the system will update the file to match the most recently uploaded file name (e.g., Installation Manual (1)). 
      • If you want to see a summary of the file's related activity (i.e., downloads, reset checkouts, etc.), expand the Version Log.
      The new version of the document is uploaded to the tool. 

Reset a Checkout

  1. Navigate to the Documents tool.
    The Documents page appears. 
  2. In the tree view, navigate to and highlight the desired file.
  3. Under Filed Checked Out, do the following:
    1. Reset Checkout. Click this button to end the check out for the selected file. The file becomes available for other users to check out. 
      Note: This button is only visible and available to: (1) the user who checked the file out, and (2) a user with 'Admin' level permission on the Documents tool. 


      file-checked-out.png

      A popup message asks you to confirm the reset action.
    2. Click OK to confirm the reset. 
      The system immediately ends the check out. 
You must to post a comment.
Last modified

Tags

Classifications

This page has no classifications.