Skip to main content
Procore

Change Permission Settings on a Folder or File

Click the links to jump to the section you would like to view.

Objective

To change permission settings on a file or folder in the Documents tool.

Background

If you are a Procore administrator or project manager, you may want to hide documents from users who have 'Standard' or 'Read-only' permissions on the Documents tool, so that only 'Admin' users can view and modify documents. For example, you may want to make a file or folder private that contains sensitive budget or contract information that should not be visible to most users on a project.

Warning! Any user with 'Admin' permissions can make a file private or publicly visible to all users.

The best practice is to make an entire folder private to hide all of the contents from 'Standard' level users and below, and to make specific files private to give 'Standard' and 'Read-only' level users access to the folder without showing them those specific files.

Things to Consider

  • Required User Permission:
    • To edit a file or folder marked 'Private', 'Admin' permissions on the company's or project's Documents tool.
      Note: Users with 'Read Only' or 'Standard' permission to the project's Document tool can view a document marked 'Private' if they have been granted the 'Access Private Folders and Files' granular permission. To learn more, see Grant Granular Permissions in a Permission Template and View a Document.
  • Additional Information:
    • The 'Admin' permission level for editing applies to both the company's and project's Documents tool.
      Note: Permission levels are tool-specific. For example, you can have 'Read-only' level permissions on the company's Documents tool and 'Admin' level permissions on a project's Documents tool. Please keep this in mind when you are looking to tasks at different levels.
    • Unless you have been granted the granular permission detailed above, a private folder or file is only visible to 'Admin' users. You may also mark a file or folder private in Procore Drive. See Lock/Unlock a Folder/File in Procore Drive.
    • Regular (not private) folders or files are visible to all users with 'Read-only' or above access on the Documents tool.
    • Private folders can be made available to 'Standard' or 'Read Only' users. Any sub-folders under a private/locked folder will adapt the permissions of the parent folder.
    • Uploaded files will inherit the visibility permissions of its parent folder. For example, if you upload files into a private folder, the new files under that folder will not be visible to 'Standard' permissions and below.
    • If you have 'Standard' permissions and upload a document, an 'Admin' user can make your file or folder private. In such cases, you will not be able to view or access the file even though you were the person who originally uploaded it into Procore.
    • You can make all future files or folders uploaded or created private by default in the Documents tool's configure settings, by selecting the checkbox next to "Documents and Folders Private by Default." See Configure Advanced Settings: Project Documents.

Steps

Lock/Unlock a File or Folder

  1. Navigate to the company's or project's Documents tool.
  2. Expand or collapse the folders to locate the file or folder. 
  3. Select the file or folder.
  4. Choose from these options to lock or unlock the file or folder:
    1. Lock a File or Folder
      Click the lock icon next to the file or folder name so it is in the locked position. This changes the setting on the file or folder to Private.
      Notes: 
      • Only users with 'Admin' level permission to the Documents tool can view a Private file or folder.
      • If you want to allow users with 'Read Only' or 'Standard' level permissions to the Documents tool with access to the file or folder, follow the steps in Make a File or Folder Private.
        lock-private.png

        OR
         
    2. Unlock a File or Folder
      Click the lock icon next to the file or folder name so it is in the unlocked position. This removes any private permission settings, so the selected file or folder is now visible to any user with 'Admin' level permission to the Documents tool.

      unlocked-no-permissions-set.png

​​​​​Make a File or Folder Public

  1. Navigate to the company's or project's Documents tool.
  2. Expand or collapse the folders in the tree view to locate the file or folder. 
  3. Select the desired file or folder.
  4. Make the file or folder Public as follows:
    1. Manage Permissions. Click this button to expand the File or Folder Permissions area. 

    2. Make Private. Remove the checkmark from this box to remove any permission settings.
    3. Set Permissions. Click this button to set the current permissions. 


      make-private-cleared.png

      This removes any private permission settings  (i.e., it is now Public, which means it can be accessed by any user with 'Read Only' level permission or higher to the Documents tool).

Make a File or Folder Private

  1. Navigate to the company's or project's Documents tool.
  2. Expand or collapse the folders to locate the file or folder. 
  3. Select the desired file or folder in the tree view. 
  4. To make the file or folder Private and manage access permissions, do the following:
    1. Manage Permissions. Click this button to expand the File or Folder Permissions area. 

    2. Make Private. Place a checkmark in the box to set the permissions to Private. This reveals the Admin list, which shows all the users with 'Admin' level permission to the Documents tool. Remove the checkmark from this box to remove all private settings.
    3. Allow Access. If you want to allow other users or members of a group with access permission to the file or folder, select those people or groups from the Select a Person or Permission Group list (Note: To learn how to create a distribution group, see Add a Distribution Group to the Company Directory).
      Notes:

      • Restore to Parent Permissions. If you want the file or folder to use the same permission settings as its parent folder, click this button at any time. 
      • Remove All. To remove any users on the 'Allow Access' list, click this button.
      • Add All. To add all of the listed users to the 'Allow Access' list, click this button.

      file permissions.png
       
    4. Set Permissions. Click this button to set the current permissions. 

See Also

 

  • Was this article helpful?