Skip to main content
Procore

Edit a Permission Template

Objective

To edit a permission template in the company's Permissions tool. 

Background

In Procore, Role-Based Permissions (RBP) are used to manage user access to different Procore tools. Access for each role is defined in a permission template. By default, Procore provides its clients with several role-based permission templates. For details, see What is a permission template? and What are the default permission templates in Procore?

If your company wants to modify any of Procore's default permission templates or if your company has created a new template, use the steps below to edit permission levels, manage assignable templates, and manage users for a permission template.

Things to Consider

Steps

A permission template's page has the following tabs:

  • Edit Template. This tab is where the permissions for each Project level tool are configured for the permission template.
  • Manage Assignable Templates. This tab is where the assignable templates are configured for the permission template. If users assigned to the permission template you are editing have the appropriate permissions to add or edit users to the Project level Directory tool, you can select the permission templates they can assign to other users in this tab. See What is an assignable permission template?
  • Manage Users. This tab is where users currently assigned to the permission template can be reassigned a different permission template or have their current permission template set as their default permission template.

Edit Template

  1. Navigate to the company's Permissions tool.
  2. Click Actions and select 'Edit Template' next to the permission template you want to edit.
  3. On the 'Edit Template' page, click the pencil icon to change the permissions template's name, or see Rename a Permission Template.
  4. For each Procore tool row in the table, select the button under one of the following columns:
    • None. Grants no access to the Procore tool. This is the default setting for all tools (except the project's Home tool) on newly created permission templates.
    • Read Only. Grants read-only access to the Procore tool. This is the default setting for the project's Home tool. When this option is selected for a tool that supports granular permissions, the tool's granular permissions options display. See Grant Granular Permissions in a Permission Template.
    • Standard. Grants standard access to the Procore tool. When this option is selected for a tool that supports granular permissions, the tool's granular permissions options display. See Grant Granular Permissions in a Permission Template.
    • Admin. Grants admin access to the Procore tool.
       Tip
      See User Permissions Matrix - Web and User Permission Matrix - Mobile for more information about the different actions that can be performed by users with the permission level you select.
  5. Click Save and select Save or Save & Return to Project Permissions.

Manage Assignable Templates

  1. Navigate to the company's Permissions tool.
  2. Click Actions and select 'Manage Assignable Templates' next to the permission template you want to edit.
  3. On the 'Manage Assignable Templates' page, select the checkbox next to each template you want users with the permission template you are editing to be able to assign to others. See What is an assignable permission template?
  4. Click Save and select SaveSave & Return to Edit Template, or Save & Return to Project Permissions.

Manage Users

  1. Navigate to the company's Permissions tool.
  2. Click Actions and select 'Manage Users' next to the permission template you want to edit.
  3. Continue with Reassign a User to Another Permission Template or Assign this Template as a User's Default Permission Template below.
Reassign a User to Another Permission Template
  1. On the 'Manage Users' page, click Actions next to the user you want to reassign to a different permission template and select 'Reassign'.
    OR
    Select the checkbox for one or more users, click Bulk Actions, and select 'Reassign' to reassign multiple users at the same time.
  2. In the 'Are you sure you want to reassign the following user(s)?' window, click Confirm.
  3. On the 'Reassign Permissions Template' page, click Reassign to Template next to the template you want to reassign the user.
    A green banner displays to confirm the user was reassigned successfully, along with the name of their newly assigned template.
Assign this Template as a User's Default Permission Template
  1. On the 'Manage Users' page, click Actions next to the user you want to assign this permission template to by default and select 'Assign this Template as Default'.
    OR
    Select the checkbox for one or more users, click Bulk Actions, and select 'Assign this Template as Default' to assign multiple users to this permission template by default at the same time.
    Note: 'Assign this Template as Default' only displays as an option when the permission template is not already a user's default permission template.
  2. In the 'Are you sure you want to assign this template as default?' window, click Confirm.
    A green banner displays to confirm the user has been assigned this template as their default permission template.
  • Was this article helpful?