1-866-477-6267 (toll-free)
Support Home > Products > Procore > Procore User Guide > Company Level > Directory > Tutorials > Deactivate a Company in the Company Directory

Deactivate a Company in the Company Directory

Objective

To deactivate a company in Procore's Company level Directory tool. 

Background

If you have a company or vendor that has gone out of business or will no longer be working on projects for your company, you can mark that company record as inactive. To do this, use the steps below. Note that in Procore, you are not permitted to delete a company record. This preserves the integrity of any historical data that is associated with the company in your company's account. After you deactivate a company record in Procore, the company no longer appears as a selection in Procore's drop-down menus and lists. 

Things to Consider

  • Required User Permission:
    • 'Admin' level permissions on the company's Directory tool.
  • Requirements:
    • Before you can deactivate a company, you must do one of the following:
      • Remove the company's users from the company record.
      • Reassign the users to a different company record.
      • Deactivate the users. 
  • Limitations:
    • Company records cannot be deactivated if there is one (1) or more active users tied to an active project in your company's account. 
  • Additional Information:
    • Inactive company records no longer appear as selections in Procore's 'Responsible Contractor' and  'Company' drop-down lists. 
    • Inactive company records are NOT deleted from Procore. This maintains historical integrity. Instead, they are moved to the 'Inactive People and Companies' view. 
    • Inactive company records can only be re-activated by a user with 'Admin' level permission to the Directory.
  • If your company has enabled the ERP Integrations tool (e.g., Dexter + Chaney Spectrum, QuickBooks, or Sage 300 CRE):
    • You may need to consolidate duplicate entries since only one Company level entry can be tied to an ERP vendor. In such cases, you may need to reassign users to the chosen company entry and inactivate the other duplicate entries.

Steps

  1. Navigate to the company's Directory tool.
    This reveals the Company Directory page.
  2. Locate the company in the list. Then click Edit



    This places the selected record in edit mode. 
  3. Click Deactivate Company



    Notes:
    • If the Deactivate Company button is grayed out and unavailable, hover your cursor over the tooltip (?) icon to view the reason. 
    • If any users are listed in the People tab, you must change their company assignment or deactivate their user account before the Deactivate Company button becomes available. 



      A banner appears to confirm that the company was deactivated. The company now appears in the Inactive Companies list. If you want to reactivate it at a later time, see Reactivate a Company in the Company Directory.

 

You must to post a comment.
Last modified
09:09, 4 Aug 2017

Tags

Classifications

This page has no classifications.