Skip to main content
Procore

Add a New Permission Template to the Company Directory

Objective

To add a new permission template to the company's Directory tool. 

Background

In Procore, Role-Based Permissions (RBP) are used to manage user access to different Procore tools. Access for each role is defined in a permission template. By default, Procore provides its clients with several role-based permission templates. For details, see What is a permission template? and What are the default permission templates in Procore?

Should your company or project require unique permission templates to fit specific roles in your environment, use the steps below to add a new permission template to the Company Directory tool. You can create two types of permission templates in the Company level Directory tool:

  • A company permission template can be assigned to any end user on any project in your company's Procore account.
    OR
  • A project permission template can only be assigned to an end user who has been added to the corresponding project's Directory tool. 

You can also grant granular permissions for supported tools in a permission template. See Grant Granular Permissions in a Permission Template.

Things to Consider

  • Required User Permissions:
    • 'Admin' level permissions on the company's Directory tool.
  • Limitations:
    • Permission templates must be added and edited in the Company level Directory tool.

  • Additional Information:

Demo

create-a-permission-template.gif

Image content may not accurately reflect the current state of the system, and/or it may be out of date.

Steps

  1. Navigate to the company's Directory tool.
  2. Click the Configure Settings  icon.
  3. In the Permission Templates For drop-down list, you have these choices:
  4. In the 'Add New Permission Template' area, do the following:
    • In the Name box, type a title for the template. 
    • Click Create
      The system reveals the 'Permission Template Saved' banner when it is added to the system. By default, newly added templates set the permission level for the Project-level Home page to 'Read-Only'. Permissions for all other tools are set to 'None'. 

See Also