1-866-477-6267 (toll-free)
Support Home > Products > Procore > Procore Customs > Custom Workflows > FAQ

FAQ


Below are common FAQs about creating Custom Workflows in Procore.

Which tools in Procore is workflow available on?

Workflows are available on the following tools:

  • Subcontracts
  • Purchase Orders
  • Prime Contracts
  • Prime Contract Change Orders
  • Commitment Change Orders
  • Commitment Potential Change Orders
  • Requisitions
  • Payment Applications
  • Custom tools

My workflow is Approved, but I need to make a change. How do I get it back to an unapproved state so I can make edits?

Contact support@procore.com and request this change. They will be able to send the item back to an unapproved state for you.

How do I turn on a workflow on my project?

To turn on workflows on a project, complete the following steps (only a user with 'Admin' permissions will be able to turn on a workflow):

  1. Navigate to the project you would like the workflow on.
  2. Select the tool your workflow is for.
  3. On the top of the page, next to the title of the tool, click the Configure Settings gear icon.
  4. In the Configure settings, you will see workflow settings on the right.
  5. On the Workflow settings menu, you will able to select the workflow you would like to use as a default for that project. This can be done company-wide by following the above steps within the project template.

How do I add default user roles?

To set default user roles, complete the steps below (only a user with 'Admin' permissions can add default user roles).

  1. Navigate to the project you would like the workflow on.
  2. Select the tool your workflow is for.
  3. On the top of the page, click the Configure Settings gear icon.
  4. You will see workflow settings on the right.
  5. On the Workflow settings menu, you can select default people for the user roles. This sets the people selected in that role for each new item created using that workflow.

I added my workflow and default user roles to my project template, but only my workflow carried over. Why?

Default user roles can only be set on a project-by-project basis. They will not carry over from the project template.

How do I add a workflow to my project template so it appears on any new projects?

To add a workflow to a template, complete the steps below:

  1. Navigate to the project you would like the workflow on.
  2. Select the tool your workflow is for.
  3. On the top of the screen, select the Configure Settings gear icon.
  4. In Configure Settings, you will see workflow settings on the right side.
  5. On the Workflow settings menu, you will be able to turn on the workflows you would like. You can also set default people for the user roles.
    Note: These default people will not carry over on a template to a new project, but the workflow itself will.

Can I have more than one workflow on the same tool?

Yes. Multiple workflows can be created for the same tool and can be selected on an item-by-item basis.

I have more than one workflow for a tool; how do I switch between them?

In the workflow set up, navigate to the drop-down list titled Workflow. Select the desired workflow for the item. Once selected, this workflow will replace the default workflow on this item only.

Do I need to enter a person into all of the default user roles?

No, default user roles can be left blank if they will have frequent changes within a project. You are able to assign user roles per item. 

 

You must to post a comment.
Last modified

Tags

Classifications

This page has no classifications.