Skip to main content
Procore

Are subcontracts and purchase orders private by default?

Answer

Yes. When you create a new purchase order or subcontract in the project's Commitments tool, the system's default setting is to place a checkmark in the 'Private' box so it is only visible to users with 'Admin' permission on the Commitments tool. For users who do NOT have 'Admin' permission to the tool, you can select any specific users to share access to the commitment by designating them in the 'Select a Person' drop-down list. These settings are located in the 'Private' section of the commitment as pictured below. 

default-privacy-setting.png

Remove the 'Contracts Private by Default' Setting on the Commitments Tool

 Tip
If you want change the default setting in the project's Commitments tool, a user with 'Admin' permission can perform the steps below to change it. This gives the system the ability to create new purchase orders and subcontracts that are NOT private. Your users will retain the option to apply privacy settings when creating new commitments or editing existing ones.

To do this, follow these steps:

  1. Navigate to the project's Commitments tool. 
  2. Click Configure Settings icons-settings-gear.png.
  3. Under Contract Configuration, remove the checkmark from the Contracts Private by Default box as shown below.

    private-by-default-blank.png