Skip to main content
Procore

Add a Task

This documentation details alpha, beta, and other prerelease software, and its accuracy and reliability is not guaranteed by Procore Technologies, Inc. It is being provided online for internal use and evaluation by authorized Procore Beta Participants only. To determine if your company is a Procore Beta Participant, please contact your Procore Procore point of contact. Procore is not responsible for and expressly disclaims all warranties of any kind with respect to this documentation and will not be responsible for any harm, loss, costs, or damages incurred due to its use.

 

 

Objective

To add a task to the project's Task tool. 

Background

The Project level Tasks tool gives you the ability to track and manage action items during a construction project's lifespan. Using this tool, you can create a task with a due date and assign it to a project user. 

Things to Consider

  • Required User Permission:
    • To add a task and assign it to any project user, 'Admin' level permission or higher on the project's Tasks tool.
    • To add a task and assign the task to yourself or to a user with 'Admin' level permission, 'Standard' level permission or higher on the project's Tasks tool. 
  • Additional Information:
    • The system does NOT permit you to delete a task. However, you can change its status to Closed or Void. See Change the Status of a Task.
    • Overdue notifications are emailed in a summary format once a day in the following cases:
      • To an Assignee when a task is in the 'Initiated' or 'In Progress' status and is past due.
      • To a Creator when a task is in the 'Ready for Review' status and is past due.
      • Overdue emails are NOT sent when a task is in the 'Closed' or 'Void' status.

Steps

  1. Navigate to the project's Tasks tool. 
    This reveals the project's Tasks page.
  2. In the tasks table, add a task as follows:
    Note: An asterisk (*) denotes a required field. 

    2018-04-12_15-55-25.png
     
    • *Number (#). Enter a number for the task. This is a required field.
      Note: The system assigns numbers to tasks in sequential order and duplicate numbers are NOT permitted.
    • *Title. Enter a descriptive title for the task. This is a required field. 
    • Status. Select one of the available statuses:
      • Initiated. Indicates the task has been created. This is the default status. 
      • In Progress. Indicates work on the task has started. 
      • Ready for Review. Indicates the task is complete and ready for review. 
      • Closed. Indicates the task and review of the work has been successfully completed. 
      • Void. Indicates the task has been voided. 
    • Assignee. Select a project user from the list. Users must have 'Standard' level permission or higher on the project's Tasks tool. 
    • Due Date. Use the calendar control to set a due date for the task. 
    • Category: Select a predefined category associated with the task.
      Note: Task categories are managed at the company level. See Add Task Categories. 
    • Description. Type a brief summary describing the task. 
    • Attachments. Click Attach File(s) or use a drag-and-drop operation to attach files to the task. 
    • Private. Place a checkmark in this box to make the task private.
      Note: Private tasks are only visible to the task's creator, the assignee, and users with 'Admin' level permission on the project's Tasks tool. 
  3. Click Add.
    A GREEN banner appears at the top of the page to indicate the task has been created and the system adds your new task to the display table.
    Note: The task also becomes visible on the assignee's My Open Items page in the company's Portfolio tool and the projects Home page. See View My Open Items in the Portfolio Tool and About the Project Home Page.
  4. Click Send Mine or Send All in the banner above the Tasks list page to send a digest email to assignees and creators of all of the tasks that have yet to be sent. The Tasks 'Date Notified' will be set to the date the Send button was clicked.

    2018-04-12_15-56-07.png
     
    • Send Mine: Clicking this option will send tasks that you have created. 
    • Send All: Clicking this option will send all tasks that are ready to be sent. Be sure to speak with other team members to make sure that all tasks are ready to go out.
      Notes:
      • Changes to an assignee will create a new notification.
      • Assignees can only send tasks they created.
      • In order to see this banner, the task must have an assignee.

Next Steps

See Also

 

  • Was this article helpful?