Support Home > Products > Procore > Procore User Guide > Project Level > Specifications > Tutorials > Configure Advanced Settings: Specifications

Configure Advanced Settings: Specifications

Objective

To configure the advanced settings of the project's Specifications tool.

Background

If you're a Project Administrator, you may find it useful to customize the functionality of the Specifications tool by modifying its advanced configuration settings. For example, you can edit and delete division numbers and descriptions, as well as control each user's permission level on the Specifications tool.

Things to Consider

  • Required User Permission: 'Admin' level permissions on the Specifications tool.
  • Configuration settings for this tool are project-specific. Setting changes are not applied to other projects in a company's Procore account.

Steps

  1. Navigate to the project's Specifications tool.
  2. Cick the Configure settings  icon.
  3. On the Specifications Settings page, configure the following settings:


    • Revision # Ordering Scheme: Choose the option button that corresponds to the desired numbering or lettering scheme. This scheme defines the order for listing revisions in the Specifications log. You have these options:
      • Letters first, then numbers (Default). List revisions in order; first by letter and then by number (e.g., a, b, c, 1, 2, 3) where 'a' is the oldest revision and '3' is the current revision.
        OR
      • Numbers first, then letters. Lists revisions in order; first by number and then by letter (e.g., 1, 2, 3, a, b, c) where '1' is the oldest revision, and 'c' is the current revision.
        (Important: If your revision ordering system uses a numbers-only or letters-only scheme, the setting you select here will have no affect on the project.)
    • Specifications Subscribers: Add subscribers to the tool's distribution list. Procore will send an email notification to these users whenever a new revision or set is uploaded to the Specifications tool. 
      Note: For a person to appear in this list, the person must first be added as a contact in the Project level Directory tool and must also be granted 'Read Only' permissions to the Specifications tool.
  4. Under Divisions, edit or delete divisions as follows:



    Note: When a blue caret appears in the upper right corner of a cell in the Procore web application, it indicates that you can edit the value.   
    • To edit a division name or number, click the desired cell under the Number or Description column and then modify the division name or number. To save your changes, click anywhere outside the cell.
    • To delete a single division, click the corresponding red X on the far right.
      Note: A Division cannot be deleted if it has one (1) or more spec section(s) under it. When a division cannot be deleted, a gray X appears. When a division can be deleted, a red X button appears.  
      Note: To learn how to delete more than one section at a time, see Delete Multiple Spec Sections.
  5. Under Sets, edit and delete sets as follows:


     
    • To edit a set, click the desired cell under the Name or Set Date column Change the set name or set date as needed. Click outside of the field to automatically save your changes.
    • To delete a set, click the corresponding red X on the far right. 
      Note: A set cannot be deleted if it is associated with one (1) or more spec sections. When a set cannot be deleted, a gray X appears. When a set can be deleted, a red X appears. 

Permissions Table

  1. In the right pane, click Permissions Table.
    This reveals the User Permissions for Specifications table.
    (Note: By default, user permissions are inherited from permission template assigned to the user during account creation. See Manage Permission Templates. You can grant or revoke user access to the tool by continuing with the next step.)
  2. Grant or revoke user access permissions as follows:
    • To grant a user access permission to a tool, place a green checkmark (​check.png) in the Read Only, Standard, or Admin column. The system automatically places a red checkmark (x.png) in the remaining columns. 
    • To revoke a user's access permission to the tool, place a green checkmark (​check.png) in the None column. The system automatically places a red checkmark (x.png) in the remaining columns. 
      (Note: If an options are grayed out, that users permissions cannot be changed at the Project level.)

      For a complete list of tasks associated with each permission level, see the Permissions Matrix.
       
    • EXAMPLE In the screenshot below:
      • Zackary has no access permission to the tool (i.e., his access has been revoked)
      • Emily has been granted 'Admin' permissions to the tool
      • Daniel has been granted  'Read Only' permissions to the tool

        Specifications Permissions
You must to post a comment.
Last modified
12:35, 23 Mar 2017

Tags

Classifications

This page has no classifications.