Support Home > Products > Procore > Procore User Guide > Project Level > Documents > Tutorials > Check In/Out a File

Check In/Out a File

Objective

To check in or out a file in the Documents tab.

Background

If you need to makes changes to a previously uploaded document, it's recommended that you first check out the file from Procore so that other users will know that it's currently being edited and that a newer version will most likely be uploaded in the near future. You can check out a file for one of the predefined time periods. (1, 3, 6, 12, or 24 hours, or 7 days)

Once you have completed your edits to the checked out file, you can check in the file by uploading a new, revised version of the file or reset the checkout if no changes were (made to the file) and you simply want to check in the original file back into Procore.

Things to Consider

  • Required User Permission: 'Standard' or 'Admin' on the Company or Project level Documents tab.
  • Any 'Admin' user can check a file back in even if it's been checked out by a different user.
  • These permission levels apply to both the Company and Project level Documents tab. (Note: permission levels are tool-specific. For example, you can have Read-only level permissions on the Company level Documents tab and 'Admin' level permissions on a Project level Documents tab. Please keep this in mind when you are looking to tasks at different levels.)

Steps

  1. Navigate to the Documents tab at either the Company or Project level.

  2. Navigate to the folder in which you wish to check in/out a file using the left hand file tree. 

Check out a file

  1. Under "Check Out File" section, use the drop-down menu to select the duration of the checkout. Select any of the predefined time periods. (1, 3, 6, 12, or 24 hours, or 7 days)

    check out a file.png
     
  2. Click the Check Out button. When a file is checked out, it will display a note with the name of the person who checked the file out and the date and time the checkout expires. (Note: If you are an 'Admin' level user, you can click the Reset Checkout button to nullify the checkout.)
  3. Refer to "Version History" to see a summary of the file's related activity such as downloads, checkout reset, etc.

Check in a file

  1. From the file overview window, click Upload A New Version.

    upload a new version.png
     
  2. Browse your computer's files and find the edited version of the file that you wish to upload into Procore.

  3. Once you have selected the file, click Open.

  4. The recommended best practice is that you use the Comments box to provide a brief description about the changes that were made to the file.

  5. Click Upload.

  6. Refer to "Version History" to see a summary of the file's related activity such as downloads and to reset the checkout (Note: Only 'Admin' level users can reset the checkout).


You must to post a comment.
Last modified
09:52, 12 Aug 2016

Tags

Classifications

This page has no classifications.