Skip to main content
Procore

Set, Change, and Remove the Permission Settings on a File or Folder

Objective

To set, change, or remove the permissions settings on a file or folder stored in the company's Documents tool. 

Background

If you are your company's Procore Administrator of if you have been granted 'Admin' permission on the company's Documents tool, you can use the Steps below to set, change, and remove permission settings on your company level files and folders. These settings allow you to grant or deny user access permission to your company level files and folders. The table below summarizes the permission settings you can set on a company level file or folder:
 

In this state… The file or folder is… The file or folder is visible to… You can also set this option on the file or folder…
Locked Private Users with 'Admin' level permission or higher on the Documents tool.  Add users with 'Read Only' level permission or higher to the 'Allow Access' list. 
Unlocked Shared Users with 'Read Only' level permission or higher on the Documents tool.  -

Things to Consider

  • Required User Permission:
    • To set, change, and remove permission settings at the company level, 'Admin' on the company's Documents tool.
  • Privacy Considerations:
    • To view 'Private' files and folders at the company level, 'Read Only' or 'Standard' level permission on the company's Documents tool and you must be a member of the file or folder's 'Allow Access' list. 
    • To view 'Private' files and folders that you uploaded to the company level, 'Standard' level permission on the company's Documents tool.
      IMPORTANT! If the 'Documents and Folders Private by Default' configuration setting is disabled (see Configure Advanced Settings: Company Documents) and you are a user with 'Standard' level permission on the Documents tool, you can create new Shared folders and files at the company level. However, a user with 'Admin' level permission can revoke your access permission to these files at anytime by changing the file or folder permission setting to Private
  • Additional Considerations:
    • New subfolders inherit the permissions set on its parent folder (e.g., if a folder is Locked and you create a new subfolder within it, the subfolder will also be Locked).
    • New file uploads inherit the permissions of its parent folder (e.g., you upload files into a Locked folder, it will only be visible to users with 'Admin level permission on the Documents tool and members of the folders 'Allow Access' list).
    • If you first set permissions on a subfolder and then set permissions on its parent folder, the subfolder will retain its unique permission settings (e.g., You have an Unlocked folder named 'Finance' and create an Unlocked subfolder named 'Financial Spreadsheets'. If you Lock the 'Finance' folder, the 'Financial Spreadsheets' folder will remain unlocked). 
  • Additional Information:

Steps

Lock/Unlock a File or Folder

  1. Navigate to the Documents tool.
    This reveals the Documents page.
  2. Expand or collapse the folders in the tree view to locate the desired file or folder. 
  3. Highlight the desired file or folder in the tree view. 
    This reveals the settings for the selected file or folder in the center pane.
  4. Choose from these options to lock or unlock the file or folder:
    1. Lock a File or Folder
      Click the lock icon next to the file or folder name so it is in the locked position. This changes the setting on the file or folder to Private.
      Notes: 
      • Only users with 'Admin' level permission to the Documents tool can view a Private file or folder.
      • If you want to allow users with 'Read Only' or 'Standard' level permissions to the Documents tool with access to the file or folder, follow the steps in Make a File or Folder Private.
        lock-private.png

        OR
         
    2. Unlock a File or Folder
      Click the lock icon next to the file or folder name so it is in the unlocked position. This removes any private permission settings, so the selected file or folder is now visible to any user with 'Admin' level permission to the Documents tool.

      unlocked-no-permissions-set.png

Share a File or Folder

  1. Navigate to the Documents tool.
    This reveals the Documents page.
  2. Expand or collapse the folders in the tree view to locate the desired file or folder. 
  3. Highlight the desired file or folder in the tree view. 
    This reveals the settings for the selected file or folder in the center pane.
  4. Share the file or folder with other users follows:
    1. Manage Permissions. Click this button to expand the File or Folder Permissions area. 

    2. Make Private. Remove the checkmark from this box to remove any permission settings.
    3. Set Permissions. Click this button to set the current permissions. 


      make-private-cleared.png

      This removes any private permission settings  (i.e., it is now Shared, which means it can be accessed by any user with 'Read Only' level permission or higher on the Documents tool).

Set a File or Folder to Private

  1. Navigate to the Documents tool.
    This reveals the Documents page.
  2. Expand or collapse the folders in the tree view to locate the desired file or folder. 
  3. Highlight the desired file or folder in the tree view. 
    This reveals the settings for the selected file or folder in the center pane.
  4. To make the file or folder Private and manage access permissions, do the following:
    1. Manage Permissions. Click this button to expand the File or Folder Permissions area. 

    2. Make Private. Place a checkmark in the box to set the permissions to Private. This reveals the Admin list, which shows all the users with 'Admin' level permission to the Documents tool. Remove the checkmark from this box to remove the privacy settings and unlock the document.

    3. Allow Access. If you want to allow other users or members of a group with access permission to the file or folder, select those people or groups from the Select a Person or Permission Group list (Note: To learn how to create a distribution group, see Add a Distribution Group to the Company Directory).
      Notes:

      • Restore to Parent Permissions. If you want the file or folder to use the same permission settings as its parent folder, click this button at any time. 
      • Remove All. To remove any users on the 'Allow Access' list, click this button.
      • Add All. To add all of the listed users to the 'Allow Access' list, click this button.

      file permissions.png
       
    4. Set Permissions. Click this button to set the current permissions. 

See Also

 

  • Was this article helpful?