Support Home > Products > Procore > Procore User Guide > Company Level > Directory > Tutorials > Deactivate a User in Procore's Company Level Directory Tool

Deactivate a User in Procore's Company Level Directory Tool

Objective

To deactivate a user from a Procore account so that he/she can no longer log in to a Procore account and access company-specific information.

Background

You are NOT permitted to delete a user from your organization's Procore company account. This is because users are frequently tied to historical information about a construction project, and it is important to keep each user's information in your company's Procore database for accurate recordkeeping. You can, however, deactivate a user's profile so that the user can no longer log in to your organization's Procore company account. 

Before you deactivate a user in the Company Level Directory tool, you will first want to ensure that if that user has been assigned to any items in Procore that require a pending action, you either close that item or reassign responsibility for completing the tasks associated with that item to another user. For best results, Procore recommends that you always perform those steps prior to the deactivation. 

Tip! If you are a user with 'Admin' level permission to the company's Reports tool, follow the steps in View Assignment Report. This allows you to view all of the 'Open' items currently assigned to a user. 

Some considerations to take into account prior to deactivating a user are outlined in the example below. 

EXAMPLES
If a user is associated with any open items on an active project, be sure to either close those items or reassign them to another user using the appropriate Procore tool. This should always be completed prior to deactivating a user in your organization's Company Level Directory tool.
Some best-practice considerations include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • Is the user an 'Employee' who requires a final timecard entry in the 'Timecard Entry' area of the Daily Log? See Create a Timecard Entry.
  • Is the user designated in the 'Assignment' field on a meeting item? See Edit a Meeting Item.
  • Is the user designated as 'Point of Contact' for a Responsible Contractor in an inspection? See Edit a Project Level Inspection.
  • Is the user designated as an 'Assignee' on an observation? See Edit an Observation.
  • Is the user designated in the 'Assigned To' field on a punch list item? See Edit a Punch List Item.
  • Is the user an 'RFI Manager' or 'Assignee' on an RFI? See Edit an RFI.
  • Is the user a 'Submittal Manager' or an 'Approver' on a submittal? See Edit a Submittal.

Things to Consider

  • Required User Permission:
    • 'Admin' level permission on the company's Directory tool.
  • Prerequisites:
    Before you deactivate a user in the company's Directory tool, it is recommended that a user with 'Admin' level permission close and/or reassign any open items that might be assigned to the user throughout Procore.
  • Additional Information:
    Once inactive, the following is true:
    • The user cannot log into Procore using the inactive account information, the user's name is removed from the selectable options in User drop-down menus.
    • The user information remains in the Company level Directory and is archived in the Inactive People and Companies view. A user with 'Admin' level permissions to the Directory can reactivate the user at any time. 
    • All user activity is stored in Procore and open items remains in the state they were in at the time of deactivation.
  • Alternatives:
    • If you want remove a user from a specific project (without deactivating the user on the company account), see Remove a User from a Project

Steps

  1. Navigate to the company's Directory tool.
    This reveals the Company Directory tool. 
  2. Locate the person's profile and click Edit.
    This opens the person's user record in edit mode. 
  3. Scroll down the page.
  4. Clear the checkmark from the Active box. 
  5. Click Save
    The system deactivates the user. If you did not use the considerations details in Background above, any open or pending items associated with inactive user remain assigned to that user in Procore's tool. Those assignments can only be updated by a user with the appropriate permissions to the specific Procore tool. For best results, Procore recommends always closing open items or reassigning them to another user (or users) prior to completing the deactivation
You must to post a comment.
Last modified
14:47, 28 Apr 2017

Tags

Classifications

This page has no classifications.