1-866-477-6267 (toll-free)
Support Home > Integrations > Sage 300 CRE > Tutorials > Remove Duplicate Companies from the Company Directory

Remove Duplicate Companies from the Company Directory

Objective

To eliminate any duplicate company listings in a Procore account's Company level directory by either consolidating or merging duplicates. 

Background

It’s strongly recommended that you consolidate any duplicate company entries in your Procore account’s Company level directory.

A consolidated directory in Procore that's devoid of any duplicate company entries will dramatically help streamline the process of linking Sage vendors with their matching entry in your Procore account's company directory. Since you can only link a Sage vendor with a single company entry in Procore, the task of linking vendors can become rather difficult and confusing if there are duplicate entries for the same company.

It’s important to remember that you only need to remove duplicates of active vendors that will be used in new (Sage-integrated) projects in your Procore account. In the example diagram below, there are three entries in the Procore account’s Company level directory. In such scenarios, it’s recommended that you eliminate the duplicate entries so that you can link the vendor in Sage with a single vendor in Procore.


diag-Sage_Setup_Duplicates.png

 

Steps

There are two different ways to clean-up your Company level Directory by removing duplicate entries. 

Merge Duplicate Company Entries

Recommended if there are more than two instances of duplicate companies.

  1. See Merge Companies.

Manually Consolidate Duplicate Company Entries

Recommended if there is only one or a few companies to merge. 

Required User Permissions: 'Admin' on the company's Directory tool

Important! You can only manually consolidate companies if there are no commitments that are tied to the specific company entry. Once a commitment is tied to a company, the entry must remain active in order to maintain an accurate vendor information. In such cases, the only option is to merge the duplicate company entries.

  1. Move users from the company entry that you want to deprecate to the company entry that you want to keep active.
  2. Change the name of the company you want to deprecate by adding an 'x' as a prefix to the name (e.g. 'X-CompanyName') to clearly denote that it's an inactive company and should not be selected and used in the company drop-down pickers.
  3. Deactivate the company.

You must to post a comment.
Last modified
09:28, 12 Aug 2016

Tags

Classifications

This page has no classifications.